At A Glance


At A Glance

National monuments established by Republican presidents:    67

National monuments modified by Republican presidents:        40

National monuments established by Democratic presidents:   73

National monuments modified by Democratic presidents:       59

Note: Republican presidents led Democrats in national monument establishments until the second term of the Barack Obama administration. If history is a useful guide, it is likely that this “lead” will be reclaimed by the Republicans in the future.

Image: Pompeys Pillar National Monument November 2009

Image credit: Kurt Angersbach / Westernlabs



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s